Margaret Millmore: An Interview

Today, it's my pleasure to speak with author, Margaret Millmore, about her new series, The Four. The first book in the series, The Beginning, was recently released and is available for purchase. Take a look at the blurb for this exciting new series:

The Four
A Series

They do exist and they always have. They live, love, and work amongst us and they are part of us. But they are different too, they are stronger and they live longer. They are the topic of many books, movies and myths, but their existence remains a secret, not everyone would accept them. And like us, they have those that are simply evil. Keeping these evil ones under control is the price they must pay to continue the lives they love. They must protect their human brethren from the Dark Ones, those that would rather kill than preserve.

Century after century the good battled the Dark Ones, always prevailing and preserving the lives of their beloved humans. In the 17th century, two powerful Dark leaders emerged, they organized their forces and a bitter war ensued. It was a fight to the death and the good thought they’d won. Four warriors led the battle, four warriors whose strength was beyond anything they knew, four warriors whose legacy had to be protected…

The good formed a consortium and with the help of a powerful sorcerer, a spell was cast; a spell that would follow the warriors’ lineage in case their power was needed again. The warriors are long dead, but their heirs are not, and now they must fight. The Dark Ones have re-emerged, they are more powerful, more resourceful and they want to control mankind and the world.

The Beginning
Book I

Clare had an ideal life. She lived in the perfect little town, had a great family and four of the best friends in the world. She also had nightmares, nightmares that plagued her for almost a decade. But these are not ordinary nightmares; they are premonitions, warnings of what is to come and what she will become.

She discovers that she isn’t alone in these vile dreams; her friends are having them too. They are dreaming of their ancestors and their own future... The discovery of their destiny and the future they must embrace is shocking and terrifying.

Tricia: Welcome back, Margaret. For the benefit of those who may have missed our first interview, could you please tell us a little about yourself?

Margaret: I’m a native Californian and have resided in San Francisco with my husband since 1991. I am the grandniece of Irish author Benedict Kiely and the second cousin of Irish author Sharon Owens. My first novel, Doppelganger Experiment was published via World Castle Publishing in September 2011 (revised/re-edited February 2012). My second novel, The Beginning – Book I (The Four series) via World Castle Publishing released August 2012 and is part one in a four part series.

Tricia: Can you give us some background on your writing career?

Margaret: I’ve always made up stories and at some point wanted to be a writer when I grew up. But life is full of surprises, twists and turns. Instead of taking up a writing career, I went into commercial real estate and had a great career for many years. When the opportunity arose to write full time, I jumped at it.

Tricia: The premise for Book 1 of The Four gave me goosebumps reading it. I think the series has a ton of potential. Can you tell us about the first book?

Margaret: The Four is a series about 5 friends, they discover that they come from a long line of vampires and werewolves (my theory in the books is that v/ww do not arise from being bitten, but are genetically predisposed to become v/ww when they reach a certain age). Book I is the beginning of this discovery and the start of the journey toward their destiny.

Tricia: Without giving away too much, can you tell us about the series and where it’s headed?

Margaret: They soon realize what they will become and that they must fight to save humanity from the Dark Ones (the bad guys). The series is about the journey from ordinary people to extraordinary warriors and the battle they must win.

Tricia: The Four is hugely different from Doppelganger Experiment. Was it difficult to switch genres?

Margaret: Ironically The Four was the first full length novel that I wrote. It was sort of test run to see if I could put a long story together. Once I was finished with the book I realized two things, this genre was HUGE… and so was the book (it was over 155,000 words). I put it aside and moved on, never really intending to do anything with it. When I mentioned it to my publisher she was interested, but wanted it broken up into a series. I’ve been a lifelong fan of v/ww, Buffy was my favorite show when I was younger and today I’m a huge fan of Being Human (both the BBC and US versions) so this was an easy genre to work with for me. As far as the difference between my first book and the series, I admit I love paranormal thrillers as well; my next book will be along those lines too.

Tricia: What was your greatest challenge in writing the book?

Margaret: Because it was my first attempt at writing a book, I would say it was just that, doing something I’ve never done before. The next challenge came when I had to make it a series, it wasn’t easy breaking the book into parts, but I think its better this way.

Tricia: When will Book 2 be released?

Margaret: Release dates for books II through IV are expected in October 2012 through January 2013.

Tricia: Where can my readers go to find out more about your work, or to purchase a copy of the book?

Margaret: All my links are listed here:!/profile.php?id=100002915649470

Twitter: MMillmore